Tommy Salmons
Year Zero
Asleep at the Wheel
0:00
-12:28

Asleep at the Wheel

Story One from Nowhere's Path

Part of my process in editing my writing is reading aloud. As this project of recording the stories advances we get nearer to the release of the book of short stories.

What is the meaning of Asleep at the Wheel?

My short stories are prescriptive of something I see within society. Asleep at the Wheel is no different.

In the south we have a saying, “Don’t mistake my kindness for weakness.” But it occurred to me that in the world of growing technologies, paranoia, overmedication, and eroding personal relationships this saying may be updated to don’t mistake my kindness for ill-intent.

Samantha has no strong roots. She’d moved across the country to a new region she’s unfamiliar with. She’s on anti-anxiety medication. She’s alone in an unfamiliar world. Her fears are controlling her actions. Her lack of stability drives her. This is the world so many people live in, and the story is a cautionary tale to not allow yourself to be driven into oblivion because you’re afraid, disconnected, and paranoid.

0 Comments
Tommy Salmons
Year Zero
Year Zero is a podcast focused on power, its abuses, and finding liberty in your own life.